User Tools

Site Tools


universal_data_base

Community Materials Assay Database Working Group

Charge: Our goal is to develop a Universal Materials Database for use by the community of researchers who need materials with low radioactivity for the construction of their experiments. This database will be portable and downloadable with a well-designed data format and high quality interface. It is envisioned to be a reference guide for the low-background community to organize and share data, much like the Particle Data Group (PDG) provides for the particle-physics community.

Goal: Our year 1 goal is to have a working version 1 of the database for use and demonstration to the community at the LRT2013 conference. In year 2 our goal is to polish and refine the database into a well developed tool.

Members:

Core Group
Name Institution/Experiment Email
Jodi Cooley SMU/SCDMS cooley physics.smu.edu
Adam Cox KIT/Cloudant adam.cox kit.edu
James Loach SJTU/Majorana james.loach gmail.com
Keith Adler SMU kadler smu.edu
Matthew Bruemmer SMU mbruemmer mail.smu.edu
Zheng Li SJTU
Ben Wise SMU bwise mail.smu.edu
Advisory Group
Name Institution/Experiment Email
Prisca Cushman U Minnesota/SCDMS prisca physics.umn.edu
Klaus Eitel KIT klaus.eitel kit.edu
Alfredo Ferella U Zurich ferella physik.uzh.ch
Richard Ford SNOLAB ford snolab.ca
Jules Gascon Edelweiss j.gascon ipnl.in2p3.fr
Josef Jochum josef.jochum uni-tuebingen.de
Vitaly Kudryavtsev U. Sheffield V.Kudryavtsev shef.ac.uk
Jean Lanfranchim jean.lanfranchi ph.tum.de
Ian Lawson SNOLAB Ian.Lawson snolab.ca
Pia Loaiza ploaiza lsm.in2p3.fr
Alan Poon LBNL AWPoon lbl.gov
Franz Proebst proebst mpp.mpg.de
Keenan Thomas LBNL kjthomas@lbl.gov
Mani Tripathi UC Davis/LUX mani physics.ucdavis.edu
Anthony Villano U. Minnesota/SCDMS villaa physics.umn.edu

Meetings

Date Agenda and Minutes Keywords
2013/03/20 Agenda and Minutes Current Progress and Tasks
2013/01/23 Agenda and Minutes Current Progress and Goals
2012/12/19 Agenda and Minutes tasks
2012/12/12 Agenda and Minutes tasks
2012/11/13 Agenda and Minutes tabular view, cloudant, persephone
2012/11/07 Agenda and Minutes Field Submit and Tabular View Specs
2012/10/31 Agenda and Minutes updates and where to go
2012/10/24 Agenda and Minutes Lucene, Cloudant
2012/10/17 Agenda and Minutes Lucene, Cloudant
2012/10/10 no minutes available Lucene, linux installations
2012/10/03 Agenda and Minutes Lucene
2012/09/17-18 Agenda and Minutes Loach visit to SMU
2011/12/05 Agenda and Minutes follow-up meeting
2011/11/21 Agenda and Minutes kick-off meeting

To do List

See weekly minutes for list of weekly tasks.

Requirements

Different data views - tabular view, (interaction columns) [H]

  1. some data viewing/manipulation library

Security [H]

  1. allow secure use of user interface [H]
  2. investigate proper user/admin model [H]
  3. implement proper user/admin model [M]

Preferences capability [L]

  1. document-based (depends on user model)

Flexible document structure [M]

  1. code to handle this [M]
  2. position/implementation/storage/upgradability of data structure in code [L]
    1. JL prejudice is not to compartmentalize data structure from the code

Search [H]

  1. code needs to know what search services available
  2. simple fall-back (view+loop) in case none are available
  3. couchdb-lucene where available
  4. Cloudant Search (~couchdb-lucene) where available

Data download [M]

  1. CSV
  2. ROOT

Name / logo

Documentation

Historical Data

universal_data_base.txt · Last modified: 2014/09/16 09:03 by cooley