Go to the U of M home page
School of Physics & Astronomy
School of Physics and Astronomy Wiki

User Tools


Undergraduate Scholarships in Physics and Astronomy

Academic year 2013-14 information will be updated in February

A number of scholarships are available to undergraduates majoring in physics or astronomy. Applications are accepted in the spring for the following year. A complete application consists of an application form (available in 145 Physics or online here), a current transcript, a written statement of purpose and goals, and a letter of recommendation from a physics or astronomy faculty member.

Award amounts vary from year to year. The following reflect awards offered spring 2011.

  • The A. O. C. Nier Undergraduate Scholarship in Physics ($10,000)

This scholarship has been endowed by Mr. Albert Nerkin to honor his friend and professional associate, Professor Alfred O. C. Nier. Applicants must be sophomore physics majors who have completed at least 15 credits in physics.

  • Harry and Viola St. Cyr Scholarship for Summer Research ($6,000)

Professor Phyllis Freier established the Harry and Viola St. Cyr scholarship in honor of her parents. The scholarship provides support for a student to work in a research physics laboratory during the summer. Applicants must be physics or astrophysics majors currently in their freshman or sophomore year.

  • J. Morris Blair Scholarship ($2,500)

This scholarship in honor of Professor J. Morris Blair is awarded to a Junior for use during the Senior year.

  • Jeffrey Basford Scholarship ($3,000)

This scholarship will be awarded to a physics major with no year in school specified.

  • Erwin Marquit and Doris Grieser Marquit Undergraduate Scholarship ($1,000)

This scholarship will be awarded to an African American or Native American physics major.

  • Edmond G. Franklin Scholarships

Full or partial tuition for the current academic year. This scholarship is open to declared physics majors for use in junior or senior year. There are several scholarships available.

  • Outside Scholarships

The Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship. You must be a sophomore at the time of application to be eligible. Approximately 100 undergraduate students, U.S. citizens only, who will be a junior in the fall 2010, will be selected as Hollings scholars beginning fall 2010 academic term. Program Information and Application Materials available online.

The Barbara Lotze Scholarship for Future Teachers.The AAPT Executive Board offers two scholarships for future high school physics teachers. These scholarships, supported by an endowment funded by Barbara Lotze, are available only to U.S. citizens attending U.S. schools. Undergraduate students enrolled, or planning to enroll, in physics teacher preparation curricula and high school seniors entering such programs are eligible. The two successful applicants will each receive a stipend of up to $2,000. The scholarship may be granted to an individual for each of four years. Applications will be accepted at any time and will be considered for recommendation to the Executive Board at each AAPT Winter Meeting. All applications in which all materials, including letters of recommendation, are received by December 1 will be considered for recommendation at the January meeting of the AAPT Executive Board.

The Minnesota High Tech Foundation offers scholarships to Minnesota undergraduate students in STEM disciplines, including STEM teaching, for work toward their degrees. These scholarships include $5,000 and $10,000 awards and can include internship opportunities at Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) member companies. Students with sophomore through senior academic status in the current school year are eligible to apply; sophomore status may include students who have achieved this status through AP credit or PSEOs. Applicants must be enrolled at an accredited, Minnesota-based higher education institution. Apply here.

undergrad_program/scholarships.txt · Last modified: 2013/01/09 09:53 by bartel